Posted in film, Lists

Top Ten Favourite Films of All Time

Like any other movie lover, I have a top ten list of all time favourite films. Most of the films on this list have been permanent fixtures for years, but there are a couple that I have changed recently. This list is based on my own opinions and no one elses. Let’s begin…

7eely

10. HARRY POTTER AND THE GOBLET OF FIRE (2005)

tumblr_muqpfayp421qew2ypo1_500

This may be seen as a controversial decision, as majority of people usually favour the third instalment of the Harry Potter series. That said, I love the forth film, mainly because it was the first film that went totally dark (third film was the start), it had a great story with the tri-wizard cup, and more importantly it was the “beginning of the end” when Voldemort regenerated fully.

9. SHAUN OF THE DEAD (2004)

l33vupo

This is such a great British comedy, in fact its probably one of the best comedies ever released. It is the first of the ‘Three Flavours of Cornetto trilogy’, Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright have taken the zombie genre and put their own spin on it. Highlights of this film is the incredible one-liners, and comedic timings from the entire cast.

8. THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA (2006)

miranda-just-quotable

Another great comedy favourite of mine. Meryl Streep is amazing in this movie she really went all the way with the character of Miranda Priestly and delivered the best lines in this movies. Emily Blunt was also brilliant in this movie, despite only having under 20 minutes of screen time, that was all she needed. Other highlights from this movie is soundtrack (lots of Madonna!), and the styling, I remember watching movie and I literally just wanted everything Andy wore.

7. VERTIGO (1958)

giphy9

I first watched this film when I was studying Film Studies in school. It has been described as the greatest film of all time, and it is quite spectacular. Hitchcock is the ultimate king of suspense, this film has a brilliant plot with many twists, and the visual effects are stunning.

6. KILL BILL VOL. 1 (2003)

tumblr_inline_o6td8uygt01qb3yk3_500

I am a massive fan of Tarantino, every film he makes has a fantastic premise with his own ‘auteur’ style injected into it. Kill Bill vol 1 is by far my favourite, the visuals, music, amazing characters, and the razor tongue dialogue was on point. A highlight of this film is the anime short in the middle of the film of O-Ren’s origins.

5. GONE GIRL (2014)

tumblr_inline_nhxqpw3ocs1sj4qvu

For me, Gone Girl is the perfect thriller. Its filled with so much suspense, and it has an amazing twist to it. I read the book as well, and to be honest the film is definitely on par with it. David Fincher who has directed some incredible films (Zodiac, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo) directed this piece. Rosamund Pike and Ben Affleck were spectacular and had the perfect amount of chemistry.

4. THE SOUND OF MUSIC (1965)

tumblr_nkl75z29aw1qhdvf5o3_540

The Sound of Music is my ultimate musical movie, I was pretty much raised on this. I can’t even count how many times I’ve seen this film. It is such a fun movie, the songs are great to sing along too, it has breathtaking visuals, and Julie Andrews is an absolute babe in the film!

3. PRETTY IN PINK (1986)

giphy10

This is my favourite teen movie, and before anyone asks I’m team Blaine. Its a perfect teen romcom/drama that I think a lot of people can relate to. The overall narrative is very reminiscent of Romeo and Juliet but instead of two warring families its two groups of teenagers who have different backgrounds in terms of social class and privilege at high school and IRL. Duckie is such a highlight of the film as well as James Spader who was pretty much Chuck Bass before Chuck Bass existed.

2. BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S (1961)

giphy11

I love Audrey Hepburn! She is the epitome of class and beauty. Her performance as Holly Golightly is perfect. I love the 60s nostalgia this film possesses, and George Peppard was such a dream boar. There is that blip of racism in the form of Mickey Rooney that can dampen the movie, but the overall story and performance from Hepburn is spectacular.

1. AMERICAN BEAUTY (1999)

giphy12

This is probably my perfect movie. Its has the right amount of drama and humour mixed together. It has a great cast featuring Kevin Spacey, Annette Bening, and Thora Birch. It has an incredible score which gives me goosebumps everytime I listen to it, and the cinematography is breathtaking.

Author:

A little something I run in my spare time. This is an entertainment blog where I post anything to do with tv/film/music that range from top 10 lists and reviews to songs of the week. I occasionally write personal entires and guides.

Leave a Reply

