Posted in film, Lists

Top 10 Films To Look Forward To This Summer (2017)

Summer movie season is upon us once again, and unlike last year I am actually looking forward to a lot of films that will be out in the coming months. I will admit I struggled to choose my top ten but I am also pleasantly surprised by the amount of original or first time adapted films that are being released this year considering last year’s box office was overran by sequels and reboots.

7eely

10. The Hitman’s Bodyguard

the-hitmans-bodyguard-first-trailer-video-0

One of the first original movies on the list, the Hitman’s Bodyguard looks like a hilarious outing with Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L. Jackson. At the same time it could be a massive miss like R.I.P.D. Finger’s crossed its will be the comedy of the summer.

9. The Dark Tower

the-dark-tower

I will admit I am unfamiliar with the story, all I know is that its a Stephan King adaptation that a lot of people have been trying to bring to the big screen for decades. The trailer looks impressive and I do love a bit of Idris Elba so hopefully it will be very enjoyable.

8. Baby Driver

1489418135-baby

I’m a massive Edgar Wright fan so when this film was announced I knew it would be great. The reviews have been incredible so as as it’s been doing the festival circuit, so I am hoping this film will do well with audiences.

7. The Mummy

eruoy

The first reboot of the list, it’s a bit of stretch considering how badly the last mummy movie was. But from the look of the trailers, I think they’re not following the same pattern as the original trilogy which can be a good thing. It also has Tom Cruise in it so I’m taking that as a good sign as Cruise’s movies the last 5/6 years have been pretty good.

6. Spider-Man: Homecoming 

200

If I’m being honest I will probably enjoy this, it’s Marvel and they have not had a miss in a few years so it will probably use the same MCU formula. What I’m more excited about is Tom Holland as I think he is a stellar actor (watch him in The Impossible!) and he was the stand out in Civil War.

5. Wonder Woman

15571

Ok I know the DC universe has had a really rocky start but the trailers for Wonder Woman have been pretty good and I think it will be quite enjoyable. Even if it doesn’t live up to expectations you have to remember that a live-action Wonder Woman movie has never been attempted and the fact that DC have a female fronted super hero movie is more than what the MCU have done.

4. Valerian and The City of a Thousand Planets

tumblr_ogfs2cu8zy1s78x4wo1_500

I will admit I hate Cara Delevigne as an actress, I’ve watched her in a few things now so nope. That said I do like Luc Besson movies, he’s great director, and I really enjoyed Lucy despite it being completely bonkers. The trailer looks pretty cool and I really like the concept. Although it is adapted from a comic book and not original content, I would rather go see something I haven’t seen before than pay money to see Pirates of the Caribbean 5 (like did really need another one?!?!?!).

3. The Beguiled

img-buzzfeed-combuzzfeed-staticstatic2017-04209assetbuzzfeed-prod-fastlane-03anigif_sub-buzz-8022-1492696261-5-69b05cc67e181dda8d69edf4c7c1b9d74a67b333

Although this is a remake, the original came out 46 years ago so it’s nice to introduce a new audience to something they probably wouldn’t have seen (I just hate remakes for films that have some out in the 90s onwards). Sofia Coppola has written and directed this  film so that is a plus as I loved The Virgin Suicides and The Bling Ring. It also has an amazing cast attached to it (Nicole Kidman, Colin Farrell, Kirsten Dunst, Elle Fanning). This probably won’t have a massive box office but I am hoping the critics will love it.

2.  War of The Planet of The Apes

apes

I love the planet of the apes movies, I’ve been a fan since I saw the original when I was a child (hate the Tim Burton one though!). These Andy Serkis Apes films that have been incredible, I enjoyed the last one even more than the first so hopefully Fox will be able to achieve the same success.

1. Dunkirk 

qlstw3ssbwfei

There was no competition really, the moment that trailer came out for Dunkirk I knew this would be my most anticipated. Christopher Nolan is pretty much King cinema so I am hoping this film film blow everything out the water. Interstellar was a bit of a miss for me (it was too weird and confusing) so I am hoping this is Nolan’s return to form.

Author:

A little something I run in my spare time. This is an entertainment blog where I post anything to do with tv/film/music that range from top 10 lists and reviews to songs of the week. I occasionally write personal entires and guides.

Leave a Reply

